Sunday Funday

I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again; I love my Sundays.

Today was a particularly fun one! My older sister and I had a girl’s day in Des Moines. We went out to eat, and then enjoyed a great Wine and Canvas event!

We ate at Hu Hot, and it was awesome. It’s a Mongolian grill, where you basically make your own stir fry and they cook it up right in front of you. It’s a great place to go if you’re a picky eater; there is seafood, chicken, pork, sausage (or you could easily go meatless!); there are several different kinds of noodles (which, again, you could skip if you wanted). There are tons of different veggies and sauces/spices to add, or you could have a Plain Jane bowl of chicken and carrots if that’s what you’re feeling. Totally customizable to your personal taste and/or diet!

wp-1396802128724

My (delicious) plate included:

  • Chicken
  • Green beans
  • Broccoli
  • Water chestnuts
  • Carrots
  • Onions
  • Peppers
  • Pineapple
  • Mandarin oranges
  • Garlic oil and Khan’s Special sauce
  • Sunflower seeds on top!

I skipped the noodles because I’ve carb-loaded so hard the past couple of days… I didn’t even miss them! All of the veggies filled me up. I LOVE putting fruit in my stir fry; the sweetness of the juice mixed with the tang of the other sauces is so yummy, and I think grilled pineapple is one of the best things everrrrr. Don’t knock it till you try it!

wp-1396803345117

I had a scoop of rice (yum) and enjoyed a strawberry lemonade, too!

After lunch, we headed over to the winery for our art class. If you’ve never painted on canvas before, you should definitely try it! It was really fun, and we both felt very artsy and cultured after a long afternoon of painting and sampling wine.

A work in progress...
A work in progress…
...all done!
…all done!

How’d you spend your Sunday?

 

Leave a Reply

