Twice Baked Potatoes

After one of my first blog posts, a friend asked me, “Aren’t you going to run out of things you know how to make?”

Well, yeah. I’m really good at microwave meals and making sandwiches, and I can follow directions off the back of boxes pretty well. But the point of this blog is to not only give other people ideas for meals, but also expand my own culinary adventures. And last night was one of those nights where I stepped outside of my comfort zone to try something new (to me, anyways) and really tasty. Twice baked potatoes were surprisingly easy, and super filling/flavorful. If you like baked potatoes, you’ll love twice baked potatoes.

I adapted my recipe from a blog called Food and Swine, but there are lots of different variations. This is a recipe where you can top it with pretty much anything you want: bacon, scallions, onions, hamburger, different kinds of cheese. It’s a pretty flexible meal!

naked potatoes

Here’s what I used:

  • 4 potatoes (Food and Swine’s recipe goes for 8 potatoes, but we didn’t need that many. Adjust your recipe accordingly!)
  • Olive oil
  • Salt
  • 1 C shredded cheddar cheese
  • 3/4 C sour cream
  • Milk
  • Salt, pepper, and garlic salt to taste

And here’s what I did with it:

  • Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.
  • Clean the potatoes. Use a fork to poke holes in them; 8-10 stabs should be fine.
  • Place the potatoes in a shallow baking dish (mine was an 8×8) and cover with olive oil; sprinkle with salt. Stick them in the oven for an hour.
salted potatoes
Potatoes are kind of ugly, but we love them anyways.
  • Once they are done with bake #1, remove them from the oven and let those ‘taters cool down so that you can handle them without burning your fingers off.
  • Cut the potatoes in half, length-wise.
halved potatoes
Once you have 8 potato halves, they get a little crowded in that dish. My potatoes were smaller, so if you have bigger ones or are making more than 4, I would use a 9×12 dish.
  • Scoop the insides of the potatoes out with a spoon. Leave just a thin ring of flesh in the potato skin.

gutted potatoes

potato guts

  • Add the sour cream, cheese, and a splash of milk to the potato guts. Mash, stir, mix it all up. Season with salt and pepper; I also threw in some garlic salt and chives, but you can do whatever. You want the consistency of the mixture to be like really creamy mashed potatoes so that it doesn’t get dry and lumpy during bake #2. Add more milk as necessary; if it’s too soupy, add more sour cream. Small doses are key! (And don’t forget to taste test frequently!)
potato mixture
Looks gross, tastes good.
  • Scoop the mixture back into the potato skins. Load those babies up. Once they are piled high, you can add another sprinkle of cheese on top. (I never said this was a healthy meal!)

pre potatoes

  • When they are decorated to your liking, stick them back in the oven for another 20-25 minutes.
baked potatoes
Mmmm.

We scooped the finished potato halves out of the dish with a big spoon. Potatoes keep their heat extremely well, so don’t burn yourself eating them like Cass did! We rounded out this meal with some steamed broccoli, and it was SO yummy.

finished
I topped mine off with just another sprinkle of garlic salt.
I never eat the skins of regular baked potatoes, but these double-baked ones were extra crunchy and yummy. I ate the whole thing!
I never eat the skins of regular baked potatoes, but these double-baked ones were extra crunchy and yummy. I ate the whole thing!
broccoli
My seven-year-old self is appalled and disgusted at the amount of broccoli I willingly ate last night.

2 thoughts on “Twice Baked Potatoes

Leave a Reply

