Sunday Funday BLT’s

Cass and I love our Sunday’s. I get to catch up with the DVR on all of my bad reality shows and do laundry for the week; Cass still has to chore and fix whatever machinery or tools are currently broken, but he gets a little more relaxation, too. We usually have lunch with either his parents or mine, and then settle down with a drink and The Walking Dead before the work week begins again.

Last Sunday, though, we had to fend for ourselves because both of our families were busy. We don’t usually get to eat lunch together anyways because of his work and my school, so we were suddenly stuck with actually cooking for ourselves on a Sunday. Weird.

Anyways, we decided on BLT’s because we have a plethora of pork products, which happily includes bacon. We really enjoy our fresh meat supply. We also thought this meal would be a nice balance between Cass’ meat-and-potato-man taste buds, and my trying-really-hard-to-eat-better-but-I-still-love-bacon taste buds. Plus, we had a head of lettuce and some tomatoes to use up.

Image

I made Cass cut the tomatoes because knives still make me nervous.

Image

The bacon was very thick and smoked and delicious. We will definitely never be vegetarians. I made some oven fries and sprinkled them with seasoned salt to go with the sandwiches.

Image

My dad will try to tell you that a BLT should be strictly only bacon, lettuce, and tomato. That is the silliest thing I have ever heard- every good sandwich needs a little bit of mayo and a yellow mustard smiley face! Cass put a slice of pepper jack cheese on his, with a couple of bread and butter pickle spears on the side. You can tell a lot about a person based on how they like their sandwiches. What do you put on yours?

Image

Leave a Reply

